610-966-6864

3450 Brookside Rd.
Macungie, PA 18062

Search the catalog:

Tag Archives: databases

Escape the Ordinary – through human books

Back in May, before the Escape the Ordinary series began, we looked at different types of libraries, especially “nomadic libraries.”  Today in the seventh installment of this summer series, we’re looking at another type of library, a “human library,” where regular people are the books. 

The Human Library Project takes place at Illinois State University, where volunteers become books in a type of performance art.  According to Katie Pratt, the head of this program, “A Book is a person who has volunteered to challenge prejudice and social exclusion through respectful conversation.”  This project begins its second year this Fall and anticipates a positive turnout based upon the buzz it generated last year.

You never know what someone’s story is.  As the saying goes, “everyone has a story to tell and a lesson to teach.”  If you’re interested in people’s stories, don’t’ forget to check out the Library’s biography collection, both in the library and on OverDrive

What’s your story? 

 

Harper Lee’s Second Novel

This week, the biggest literary news is that Harper Lee, the author of To Kill a Mockingbird is going to publish a second novel.  This book, Go Set a Watchman, was actually written first by Lee.  It “takes place 20 years later in the same fictional town, Maycomb, Alabama, and unfolds as Jean Louise Finch,… Continue Reading

New Databases for 2015

Lower Macungie Library is excited to offer three new databases: Novelist Plus, Brainfuse, and the Morning Call Archives. All of these databases are accessible from our website under the Research and Learn tab. Novelist Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, author… Continue Reading

LOCATION

3450 BROOKSIDE ROAD
MACUNGIE, PA 18062

GET DRIVING DIRECTIONS »

HOURS

MONDAY: 11:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.
T, W, TH: 11:00 A.M. - 6:00 P.M.
F-S: 11:00 A.M. - 2:00 P.M.
SUNDAY CLOSED

JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST